top of page

MARIUS MESSINESE  /  French, born in 1987

Marius-Messinese-Galerie-Thomas-Tournemine

WORKS

INTERVIEW MARIUS MESSINESE 2022

"I DRIVE THE VIEWER TO INTRUDE INTO THE PRIVACY OF THIS ARTIFICIAL WORLD."

In his very Hollywood settings, Marius Messinese creates an environment that is both synthetic and realistic, halfway between seduction and intrigue. The idyllic scenes of gardens, swimming pools and magazine interiors are inhabited by objects that introduce an ambiguous narrative. The omnipresent contrast supports this tension: textured areas are opposed to flat surfaces, clear colors to shaded parts, the rectitude of the architecture to the vegetal bubbling. The planes are superimposed in a sometimes incongruous cutting, enhancing the notions of space and solitude.

 

Marius Messinese works to make the emptiness and silence palpable. The objects, placed here and there, become simple "clues" of the human presence, thus underlining its obvious absence.

 

One obviously thinks of David Hockney in his Californian period of the 60's, but the painter summons many other influences of Pop Art, such as Ed Ruscha, Allan D'Arcangelo, Richard Prince, Jonas Wood or Nathalie du Pasquier. His intriguing atmospheres recall the scenes of Edward Hopper and Giorgio de Chirico, as well as the movies of David Lynch. Finally, we note the major influence of the Californian modernist architects of the 30s and 40s such as John Lautner, Craig Ellwood, Albert Frey or Richard Neutra.

At the crossroads of these influences, Marius Messinese develops a restrained figuration which, despite the Californian theme and the acidulous palette, tends towards a certain simplicity. The narrative, diffuse, just suggested, and the subjacent dramaturgy that follows, places the spectator in a position of expectation and makes him say that the scene is too banal, too calm to be quite normal.

The veneer peels away to give way to intimate drama. "Behind all this appearance, there is undoubtedly suffering, solitude."

Kaufmann Desert House by Richard Neutra_edited.jpg

Richard Neutra - Kaufmann Desert House - Palm Springs, 1946

Edward Hopper

Edward Hopper - Rooms by the sea - 1951

CAREER

Born in 1987 in a family of textile designers, Marius Messinese successively touches music, writing and fashion. He graduated from a fashion school, specializing in the creation of patterns, but it is as a self-taught artist that he decides in 2018 to devote himself fully to painting, in which he will find his true means of expression. Claiming a very Americanized culture, which he feeds with travel, music and cinema, he builds a work inhabited by archetypal visions of Florida and California.

 

April 2021 : Beginning of his collaboration with Thomas Tournemine Gallery

July 2022 : "Paradise Lost", first solo show, Thomas Tournemine Gallery, La Baule

October 2022 : Art Fair Dijon, contemporary art fair, solo show, Thomas Tournemine Gallery, Dijon

March 2023 : Lille Art Up! contemporary art fair, group show, Thomas Tournemine Gallery, Lille

June 2023 : "California Dream", group show, Acid Gallery, Lille

July 2023 : "Color Block", group show, Le Réservoir, Sète & Paris

February 2024 : Lille Art Up! contemporary art fair, group show, Thomas Tournemine Gallery, Lille

Marius-Messinese-Galerie-Thomas-Tournemine.jpg

Art Fair Dijon - Solo show, 2022

Marius-Messinese-Caillard-Tournemine

Thomas Tournemine Gallery, La Baule

FOLLOW THE NEWS OF MARIUS MESSINESE AND THE GALLERY

Thank you !

FOLLOW US ON INSTAGRAM

  • Suivez la galerie sur Instagram !
bottom of page

top of page

MARIUS MESSINESE  /  Français, né en 1987

Marius-Messinese-Galerie-Thomas-Tournemine

LES ŒUVRES

INTERVIEW MARIUS MESSINESE 2022

"JE POUSSE LE SPECTATEUR À PÉNÉTRER L'INTIMITÉ DE CE MONDE ARTIFICIEL."

Dans ses décors très hollywoodiens, Marius Messinese crée un environnement à la fois synthétique et réaliste, à mi-chemin entre la séduction et l’intrigue. Les scènes idylliques de jardins, de piscines et d’intérieurs de magazine sont habitées d’objets introduisant une narration ambiguë. Le contraste omniprésent appuie cette tension : les zones texturées s’opposent aux surfaces planes, les couleurs franches aux parties ombragées, la rectitude de l’architecture au bouillonnement végétal. Les plans se superposent dans un découpage parfois incongru, appuyant les notions d’espace et de solitude.

Marius Messinese s’emploie à rendre palpable le vide et le silence. Les objets, posés là, deviennent de simples « indices » de la présence humaine, soulignant ainsi en creux son absence manifeste.

On pense évidemment à David Hockney dans sa période californienne des 60's, mais le peintre convoque de nombreuses autres influences du Pop Art, tels Ed Ruscha, Allan D’Arcangelo, Richard Prince, Jonas Wood, ou Nathalie du Pasquier. Ses atmosphères intrigantes rappellent les scènes d'Edward Hopper et Giorgio de Chirico, tout autant que le cinéma de David Lynch. On note enfin l’influence capitale des architectes modernistes californiens des années 30 et 40 que sont John Lautner, Craig Ellwood, Albert Frey ou Richard Neutra.

A la croisée de ces influences, Marius Messinese développe une figuration contenue qui, malgré le thème californien et la palette acidulée, tend vers un certain dépouillement. La narration, diffuse, simplement suggérée, et la dramaturgie sous-jascente qui en découle, placent le spectateur dans une position d'attente. Lentement, l'idée s'immisce que la scène est trop banale, trop calme pour être tout à fait normale.

 

Le vernis s'écaille pour laisser place au drame intime. "Derrière toute cette apparence, il y a sans doute de la souffrance, de la solitude."

Kaufmann Desert House by Richard Neutra_edited.jpg

Richard Neutra - Kaufmann Desert House - Palm Springs, 1946

Edward Hopper

Edward Hopper - Rooms by the sea - 1951

PARCOURS

Né en 1987 dans une famille de créateurs textile, Marius Messinese touche successivement à la musique, l’écriture et la mode. Diplômé d’une école de mode, spécialisé dans la création de motifs, c’est en autodidacte qu’il décide en 2018 de se consacrer pleinement à la peinture, dans laquelle il trouvera son véritable moyen d’expression. Revendiquant une culture très américanisée, qu’il nourrit de voyages, de musique et de cinéma, il construit une œuvre habitée de visions archétypales de Floride et de Californie.

Avril 2021 : Début de sa collaboration avec la Galerie Thomas Tournemine

Juillet 2022 : "Paradise Lost", première exposition personnelle, Galerie Thomas Tournemine, La Baule

Octobre 2022 : Art Fair Dijon, foire d'art contemporain, exposition personnelle, Galerie Thomas Tournemine, Dijon

Mars 2023 : Lille Art Up !, foire d'art contemporain, exposition collective, Galerie Thomas Tournemine, Lille

Juin 2023 : "California Dream", exposition collective, Acid Gallery, Lille

Juillet 2023 : "Color Block", exposition collective, Le Réservoir, Sète et Paris

Février 2024 : Lille Art Up !, foire d'art contemporain, exposition collective, Galerie Thomas Tournemine, Lille

Marius-Messinese-Galerie-Thomas-Tournemine.jpg

Art Fair Dijon - Solo show, 2022

Marius-Messinese-Caillard-Tournemine

Galerie Thomas Tournemine, La Baule

SUIVEZ L'ACTUALITÉ DE MARIUS MESSINESE ET DE LA GALERIE

Merci pour votre envoi !

SUIVEZ-NOUS SUR INSTAGRAM 

  • Suivez la galerie sur Instagram !
bottom of page