FRANCO SALAS BORQUEZ  /  Chilean, born in 1979

Franco-Salas-Borquez-Galerie-Tournemine

WORKS

"LE SILLAGE", EXHIBITION IN SAINT-MALO, 2019

"I AM INTERESTED IN THE SEA IN A LITERARY WAY" - INTERVIEW BY MARIA BITAR

Could you tell us about your artistic career ?

I have spent most of my time traveling for chess tournaments since I was 11 and during my hotel stays my passion was drawing. The symbolist drawings caught my attention. I draw and paint non-stop since childhood out of natural necessity, then I started studying encyclopedias, art history and reading biographies of painters. Since then, I haven't stopped working, I would say I spent a lot of time studying and experimenting.

What is, for you, the relationship between the sea and painting ?

I would say both obsess me and painting is a physiological need for me, I can't stop myself. When I paint, I like to produce intuitive gestures and feel the dizziness of an irreplaceable moment. Despite the fact that the figuration has an order, the gestures that compose it are expressive, but the quantity of details gives a certain intensity.

I am interested in this process, in the paradox, in the freedom of the first gesture and then to finish with this absence of fear. Where all this fight that I will carry forever recites the fears, the limits, the intuition, the decisions… I am interested in the sea in a literary way in the painting, each painting evokes something different. Painting as a subtle and poetic language, where the force of nature mingles with my own nature. The limit of its reinterpretation catches my attention like a game of chess: always the same elements but an infinity of possibilities. This idea is the central axis of my work today, beyond being born into a family of sailors. Without doubt this element, the sea, is unconsciously at the base of my expression.

What are you trying to convey through your work ?

I would not say that I am looking for a message or a speech, since I came there naturally. The work transmits its complexity to me, it makes me think and feel its hostility, enraged, chaotic and at the same time, beautiful. When I look at the painting, the pictorial details of lack of control produce an introspective feeling. It connects me to the fundamental and primitive elements of the human condition, a unit of terrible universality.

What is the process behind your artistic creation ?

There are a lot of steps, different shades, different vibes, paint on paint, a mix of light and textured layers. I am interested in knowing the materials well and I approach this element as a symbol, in search of strength with different techniques. It is a work conceived as music or writing, I am guided by intuition when creating a new painting, it is like looking for a new word to complete a sentence.

What are the challenges you face when painting ?

That each work has a meaning and something interesting, that it is pictorial with brushstrokes and strong gestures, that it finds an order in this chaos, and vice versa ...

Although your works are monographic, you use different techniques, such as pencil on paper, marble powder, ink, and oil on canvas. Do you prefer one in particular ?

It's difficult to choose, I love them all because despite what one might think, each one has this vertigo of not being created with a position of technical mastery, if not like a crossing on a rope in the middle of an abyss. . The drawings are uncontrolled lines up close, but everything is in its place at a distance. Whether it is with the material of the bas-reliefs that I make with my fingers or with paint, an intense and extensive whole is created.

CAREER

Born in 1979 in Chile, on the island of Chiloé, into a family of sailors, Franco Salas Borquez has kept a certain relationship with the sea, both nurturing and dangerous. The dark and raging sea, the one that commands respect.

As a child, he distinguished himself as a chess player, until he became national champion at 13 years old. The discipline is almost considered a sport in Chile. His talent as a player makes him represent his country in many tournaments. “I trained four hours a day. "

But the young man is also "absolute" passionate about drawing. So much so that he decides to embark on a career as an artist. It was in France, where he first landed as a language assistant, that his career took off. His first sea paintings quickly spotted him and opened the doors of institutional collections to him in 2010. Affirming an increasingly contemporary pictorial approach, Franco Salas Borquez works his works with a sort of memorial archive of oceanic images, which for him offers the freedom to compose his creations spontaneously.

PUBLIC COLLECTIONS

Naval Museum of Madrid

Naval Museum of Punta Arenas, Cap Horn Room

Museum of the Citadel of Saint-Tropez

Yacht Club de France, Paris

REWARDS

Prize of the Institute of Maritime History and Culture of Spain. Naval Museum of Madrid, 2010

Letter of congratulations from the Minister of Defense. 42nd Salon de la Marine. Paris Marine Museum, Palais de Chaillot, 2011

Franco-Salas-Borquez-Galerie-Tournemine_
Franco-Salas-Borquez-Galerie-Tournemine_

FOLLOW THE NEWS OF THE ARTIST AND THE GALLERY

Thank you !

FOLLOW US ON INSTAGRAM

  • Suivez la galerie sur Instagram !

FRANCO SALAS BORQUEZ  /  Chilien, né en 1979

EXPOSITION "LE SILLAGE", SAINT-MALO, 2019

"JE M'INTÉRESSE À LA MER D'UNE MANIÈRE LITTÉRAIRE" - INTERVIEW PAR MARIA BITAR

Pourriez-vous nous parler de votre parcours artistique ?

J’ai passé la plupart de mon temps à voyager pour des tournois d’échecs depuis l’âge de 11 ans et pendant mes séjours à l’hôtel, ma passion était le dessin. Les dessins symbolistes ont retenu mon attention. Je dessine et peins sans arrêt depuis l’enfance par nécessité naturelle, puis j’ai commencé à étudier les encyclopédies, l’histoire de l’art et à lire des biographies de peintres. Depuis, je n’ai pas arrêté de travailler, je dirais que j’ai passé beaucoup de temps à étudier et à expérimenter. 

Quel est, pour vous, le rapport entre la mer et la peinture ?

Je dirais que les deux m’obsèdent et que la peinture est un besoin physiologique pour moi, je ne peux pas m’arrêter. Quand je peins, j’aime produire des gestes intuitifs et ressentir le vertige d’un moment irremplaçable. Malgré le fait que la figuration ait un ordre, les gestes qui la composent sont expressifs, mais la quantité de détails donne une certaine intensité.

Je m’intéresse à ce processus, au paradoxe, à la liberté du premier geste et ensuite en finir avec cette absence de peur. Là où tout ce combat que je porterai à jamais récite les peurs, les limites, l’intuition, les décisions… Je m’intéresse à la mer d’une manière littéraire dans la peinture, chaque tableau évoque quelque chose de différent. La peinture comme langage subtil et poétique, où la force de la nature se mêle à ma propre nature. La limite de sa réinterprétation attire mon attention comme un jeu d’échecs : toujours les mêmes éléments mais une infinité de possibilités. Cette idée est l’axe central de mon travail aujourd’hui, au-delà d’être né dans une famille de marins. Sans doute cet élément, la mer, est inconsciemment à la base de mon expression.

Que cherchez-vous à transmettre à travers votre œuvre ?

Je ne dirais pas que je cherche à trouver un message ou un discours, puisque j’y suis venu naturellement. L’œuvre me transmet sa complexité, elle me fait penser et ressentir son hostilité, enragée, chaotique et en même temps, belle. Quand je regarde la peinture, les détails picturaux de manque de contrôle produisent un sentiment introspectif. Cela me relie aux éléments fondamentaux et primitifs de la condition humaine, une unité d’une terrible universalité.

Quel est le processus derrière votre création artistique ? 

Il y a beaucoup d’étapes, différentes nuances, différentes vibrations, peinture sur peinture, un mélange de couches légères et texturées. Je m’intéresse à bien connaître les matériaux et j’aborde cet élément comme symbole, à la recherche de la force avec différentes techniques. C’est un travail conçu comme une musique ou une écriture, je suis guidé par l’intuition lors de la création d’un nouveau tableau, c’est comme chercher un nouveau mot pour compléter une phrase. 

Quels sont les défis auxquels vous êtes confronté au moment de peindre ? 

Que chaque œuvre ait un sens et quelque chose d’intéressant, qu’elle soit picturale avec des coups de pinceau et des gestes forts, qu’elle trouve un ordre dans ce chaos, et vice versa…

Bien que vos œuvres soient monographiques, vous utilisez différentes techniques, telles que le crayon sur papier, la poudre de marbre, l’encre et l’huile sur toile. En préférez-vous une en particulier ?

C’est difficile de choisir, je les aime toutes car malgré ce que l’on peut penser, chacune a ce vertige de ne pas être créée avec une position de maîtrise technique, sinon comme un croisement sur une corde au milieu d’un abîme. Les dessins sont des lignes incontrôlées de près, mais tout est à sa place à distance. Qu’il soit avec la matière des bas-reliefs que je fais avec mes doigts ou avec de la peinture, un tout intense et étendu est créé. 

PARCOURS

Né en 1979 au Chili, sur l’île de Chiloé, dans une famille de marins-pêcheurs, Franco Salas Borquez en gardera un certain rapport à la mer, à la fois nourricière et dangereuse. La mer sombre et déchaînée, celle qui impose le respect.

Enfant, c’est comme joueur d’échecs qu’il se distingue, jusqu’à devenir champion national à 13 ans. La discipline est quasiment considérée comme un sport au Chili. Son talent de joueur le fait représenter son pays dans de nombreux tournois. « Je m’entraînais quatre heures par jour. »

Mais le jeune homme est aussi passionné « absolu » de dessin. Si bien qu’il décide de se lancer dans une carrière d’artiste. Pas si facile, mais il ne rechigne pas à aller faire des portraits dans les centres commerciaux pour gagner sa vie. C’est en France, où il débarque d’abord comme assistant de langues, que sa carrière décolle. Ses premiers tableaux de mer le font rapidement repérer. Il les travaille avec une sorte d'archive mémorielle d'images océaniques, qui lui confère la liberté de composer ses créations de manière spontanée. En 2014, l’une d’elles est présentée au Musée national de la marine à Paris.

COLLECTIONS PUBLIQUES

Musée Naval de Madrid

Musée Naval de Punta Arenas. Salle Cap-Horn

Musée de la Citadelle de Saint Tropez

RÉCOMPENSES

Prix de L'institut d'Histoire et Culture Maritime d'Espagne. Musée Naval de Madrid, 2010

Lettre de félicitations, Ministre de la Défense "42 Salon de la Marine". Musée de la Marine de Paris, Palais Chaillot, 2011

SUIVEZ L'ACTUALITÉ DE L'ARTISTE ET DE LA GALERIE

SUIVEZ NOTRE PAGE INSTAGRAM 

  • Suivez la galerie sur Instagram !